Ant Birthday Cupcakes

So besides being a crafter I am also a baker, I especially love making cupcakes! We drove up to Denver for my nephews 1st birthday so I offered to make some birthday cupcakes for them to have at his birthday party. The theme was bugs, it was so cute! First my husband and I painted him a couple of wooden bugs and a wooden #1 to go on his present, I painted a dragonfly  and the #1 and Hubby painted a bumble bee. You can see from the picture I went with the more just paint it pretty and Hubby got all creative and created like a Mario bee! What was funny about this was that I hadn’t talked to my sister-in-law before hand about what I was doing and low and behold the little cake she had ordered for him had a dragonfly and a bumble bee on it! Then it got even weirder the #1 I painted was blue with red polkadots and the #1 candle she had bought him was blue with green polka dots! It was like we were connected!

IMG_1909

My cute nephew I love him!

IMG_1907

I had a hard time at first figuring out how to make the ants fit on the cupcakes because I do a special like rose/flower type icing and I didn’t want to ruin it. Also, we weren’t sure if everyone would like the chocolate on theirs so I did some with and some without the ants. At first I tried to use icing for the legs on the ants but it wasn’t working so my brother had a good idea of using chocolate sprinkles so I used those as the legs and then I used chocolate chips as the bodies. I think they turned out pretty good and they were a hit because they were all gone at the end of the party!

IMG_1929 IMG_1928 IMG_1927IMG_1926

I hope you guys enjoyed my cupcakes! Please leave comments and follow my blog! I know I am knew but it will be worth it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

