Wicked Witch Boots

It is that time of year again…Halloween time! I love that the weather is still warm but not too hot. I am excited to decorate for Halloween and to have our trick-or-treaters! We handed out full candy bars last time because Hubby wanted to be “that house” that kids remember and I must admit it was a lot of fun. I had a little wicker basked and we lined up all of the different choices for the kids to pick and I think they really enjoyed picking out what they got. It was interesting to see what they all picked and what out of the choices went the fastest. I ended up getting some Fun Dip packets and Hubby didn’t think anyone would go for those and actually a lot of people did, especially mom’s with babies. Anyway so I ordered me some new shoes and they came with these cardboard inserts that were shaped to go inside the shoe and I was going to recycle them and my mom said those would be cool to make something out of them. Then the idea popped into my head! They would be perfect for wicked witch boots! So that is indeed what I did! First I started with outlining where the buckle would go and painting it silver.

IMG_2283

The outline

IMG_2284

The buckle

 

After I got that done I had to draw where the boot would be painted on the cardboard foot and where the flap of the boot would come up on the foot from the buckle. Once that was drawn on I painted the bottom part of the book black and then the flap of the boot black.

IMG_2285

The boot

IMG_2287 IMG_2286

The next step was making the striped socks. Now the witch usually wears green and black socks but since I wasn’t making this 3d you wouldn’t really be able to tell the difference from the black sock stripe and the boot. So Hubby suggested that I make the black a little lighter, so I mixed some silver and black paint together and that worked out nicely. I know it isn’t the exact color of the witches socks but I wanted to be able to see it. I think it turned out pretty good.

IMG_2288

The flap and socks

IMG_2290

witchy socks

IMG_2289

I wasn’t sure about painting on the top because that is where the foot would be but I also don’t want it to look strange. However, Hubby suggested we find a way to give it legs so I am still working on that part. Next I wanted it to be a heel so I took two toilet paper rolls and painted them black and stuck them up in the heel of the cardboard foot and voila we have a heel boot.

IMG_2291

Toilet paper roll heel

IMG_2293

The finished product!

IMG_2292

I give you the wicked witches shoes

 

I must say I am pretty happy with them and I think they are going to be a great decoration for around the house and the best part is I didn’t have to glue the heel in so when storing I can take it off and they will fit in a smaller box! :-). Hope you all enjoyed my Halloween craft! More to come!

Leave a Reply

